As some of you may already know, Wisconsin Supreme Court Associate Justice David Prosser is said to have grabbed fellow Associate Justice Ann Walsh Bradley by the neck – with both hands – in the middle of a heated exchange almost two weeks ago. According to some accounts, as the exchange got more heated, Bradley asked Prosser to leave her office. Then he grabbed her by the neck.

Prosser and Bradley each declined further comment until yesterday. First, from Prosser:

Once there’s a proper review of the matter and the facts surrounding it are made clear, the anonymous claim made to the media will be proven false. Until then I will refrain from further public comment.

Then, we get this, from the Milwaukee Wisconsin Journal Sentinel

But another source told the Journal Sentinel that Bradley attacked Prosser.

“She charged him with fists raised,” the source said.

Prosser “put his hands in a defensive posture,” the source said. “He blocked her.”

In doing so, the source said, he made contact with Bradley’s neck.

Um . . .

Let me get this straight. The way to defend yourself against someone who charges you with fists flying is to grab that person by the neck? With both hands? Did Bradley’s neck land in between your hands, Mr. Prosser? Silly me. I thought all this time when someone charges me like that I’m supposed to duck or dodge, do whatever it takes to get out of the way.

This, from the man who some time ago called Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley Abramson a “bitch” and said he would “destroy” her. In the aftermath of that Prosser tried placing blame on the other party, stating she “prompted” him.

I probably overreacted, but I think it was entirely warranted. . . . They (Abrahamson and Justice Ann Walsh Bradley) are masters at deliberately goading people into perhaps incautious statements. This is bullying and abuse of very, very long standing.

This is a classic case of what abusers do when called out on their behavior. Blame the victim. “I didn’t plan on hitting you, but you made me do it. I just couldn’t help myself”. Anthony Weiner was forced to resign over inappropriate pictures he sent and for trying to cover it up. In no way am I defending Weiner, but he did nothing violent, unlike Mr. Prosser. If nothing happens to Prosser, I will be pissed bey0nd all imagination. And if Prosser does skate this, the good people of Wisconsin should take to the streets, just like they did this last winter.

It doesn’t matter what one’s ideology is. It is never ok for a man to assault a woman like that. Hell, it’s never ok for a human being to do that to another. Prosser needs to be forced to step down, and charges should be pressed. It’s not just abusive workplace behavior. It’s criminal assault and battery.

